top of page
Search

Cleaning Disaster

Dear Dr. Pepper,

I am so tired of fighting with my partner over cleaning. I can’t stand cleaning and I can’t stand a mess. My partner wants me to do more cleaning. I just can’t see spending all day at work and all weekend cleaning. I want to hire a cleaning person and my partner says that is lazy. Decide for us.

Felix and Oscar


Dear Odd Couple,


I am guessing the priority is retaining your friendship/romance/bromance. Taking away the fights over cleaning would promote peace between you. What price are you willing to pay for peace?


Cleaning services were used at the beginning of mankind. After Adam and Eve discovered their nakedness and began wearing designer leaves, someone had to wash the leaves and thus began the first arguments over division of labor. Over centuries people have had servants - seems like nearly all castes of people hired help. So, join the 21st century of hiring household help!


Not to make this about me, as much as I enjoy doing that, a clean house is a treat to come home to! After 30 years of having a cleaning service, I highly recommend it. The rate of cleaning depends on your budget and fastidiousness.


Propose a trial of having a cleaning service. Suspend judgement on being lazy. Try a 3-month trial. If the fighting between you two is reduced, great. You are welcome. If it does not reduce the fighting, consider cleaning arguments to be a deeper issue needing examination.


Here’s hoping this cleans up your messy issue!


Dr. Pepper

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

God Forsaken

Dear Dr. Pepper, I am stressing out over many issues. I can’t seem to figure out an answer. I pray but don’t get any response. I know you are a “God has a Plan” person, but that doesn’t seem to be wor

Flicked Off

Dear Dr. Pepper, I am stumped. I went on a first meeting with a man. We had been texting for two weeks and seemed to have a good rapport going. We met at a coffee shop. I was dressed nicely. I had a l

Tense Tessa

Dear Dr. Pepper, My ex-husband and his new wife are exceedingly difficult for me to handle. I cannot stand to see them at school or athletic functions. Any advice for managing the tension? Tense Tessa

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page