top of page
Search

Freaked Out In Fridley

Dear Dr. Pepper,

I admit I am a news junkie. I watch FOX TV, read the newspaper, and listen to the radio every day. I want to be informed. I can’t even eat breakfast without having current events being relayed to me. The problem is that I get so depressed listening to all the bad stuff – wars, crime, violence, kidnapping…frightening stuff.

I feel so out of balance – I am scared of this world and don’t know what to do. Can you help?

Freaked Out in Fridley


Dear F.O.,


Powerful quandary! You want to be knowledgeable but not overwhelmed.


Let’s start with you first. You have a brain that is fed by you alone. What you put in your brain, effects every cell in your body. For example – a sad story can impact your serotonin levels in your brain sending a cascade of consequences to your whole body. A happy story or receiving pleasing information can increase your serotonin levels and positively impact you.

As the feeder of your brain, it is in your control to feed your brain what is needs to be balanced (your expression). So, starting today you can develop a “nutritious meal plan”. Nutrition for your body is based on the Food Pyramid of fruits, veggies, proteins, dairy, fats. Nutrition for your brain can have a Pyramid as well.

What would you place at the bottom of the pyramid so that it is the greatest source of nutrition? Some might place prayer, meditation, reflection on the bottom. Others may place exercises that stimulate serotonin such as aerobic exercises or running for example. Others may place engagement in their intellectual interests or career interests or studying aspects of their hobby. Others may place value on relationship building or volunteer work.

What is the next level of the pyramid for you?

As you create your Brain Nutrition Pyramid – notice what should be at the top akin to the sugar, fat, high carbohydrate top of the food pyramid. It is the outside world newsfeed. The majority of your brain nutrition should be focused on what your brain needs – sustenance for your spirit, soul, body. Events out of your control do not feed your brain adequately, therefore their percentage of daily consumption should be the smallest.


I hope this is helpful. Please let me know if this resonates with you!


Best,

Dr. Pepper

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

God Forsaken

Dear Dr. Pepper, I am stressing out over many issues. I can’t seem to figure out an answer. I pray but don’t get any response. I know you are a “God has a Plan” person, but that doesn’t seem to be wor

Flicked Off

Dear Dr. Pepper, I am stumped. I went on a first meeting with a man. We had been texting for two weeks and seemed to have a good rapport going. We met at a coffee shop. I was dressed nicely. I had a l

Tense Tessa

Dear Dr. Pepper, My ex-husband and his new wife are exceedingly difficult for me to handle. I cannot stand to see them at school or athletic functions. Any advice for managing the tension? Tense Tessa

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page