top of page
Search

Messed & Missed

Dear Dr. Pepper,

I think I messed up my child’s childhood and that is why they won’t talk to me now. I don’t know what to do. Any advice?

Messed & Missed


Dear M & M,


Huge issue for many moms. I am unsure what you did but that was then, and this is now. What can you do now? I highly recommend therapy for you. You need to process your immediate losses, understand your past behaviors, and develop a plan for offering your best self. While you are waiting for your therapy appointment, start journaling. Describe the better life you wish to live and the better self you wish to offer your child.


Be prepared to hear some possibly uncomfortable truths when you have the tough conversation in the future with your child. Therapy will help with this both before and afterwards. The concept of asking forgiveness is important. Forgiveness is nothing without a plan to change. Thus, you are bravely doing self-reflection, reviewing the past for increased understanding, designing changes, asking for forgiveness and establishing new behaviors! I am so proud of you. This is a fantastic goal!


Wishing you much success! Would love to hear how you are doing!


Pepper

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

God Forsaken

Dear Dr. Pepper, I am stressing out over many issues. I can’t seem to figure out an answer. I pray but don’t get any response. I know you are a “God has a Plan” person, but that doesn’t seem to be wor

Flicked Off

Dear Dr. Pepper, I am stumped. I went on a first meeting with a man. We had been texting for two weeks and seemed to have a good rapport going. We met at a coffee shop. I was dressed nicely. I had a l

Tense Tessa

Dear Dr. Pepper, My ex-husband and his new wife are exceedingly difficult for me to handle. I cannot stand to see them at school or athletic functions. Any advice for managing the tension? Tense Tessa

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page