top of page
Search

Wanting To Try Therapy

Dear Dr. Pepper,

I think I want to do therapy, but I am afraid. I got some sensitive stuff I want to figure out. Can I talk and say what I need to or is the therapist going to ask me stuff?

Gonna burst if I don’t get it out!


Dear Gonna Burst,


Good question. I recognize you want to be realistic about therapy. You want to know what to expect. That information will help lessen your anxiety. You are processing big stuff and thinking about changes to make your life better. All good!


You are right that a therapist is not a mom or girlfriend on which to verbally dump. A therapist is wanting to know about you. The focus is not necessarily on the problem. How you have adapted to the problems is important. Sometimes the adaptations are not serving you well and therapy can help create new adaptations that actually help you.


Basic first appointment questions follow. They are from https://positivepsychology.com/mental-health-questions/

Does this help answer your question? While the first therapy appointment seems to be information gathering and you aren’t getting to share your needs, hang in there please. For most, just starting therapy is starting the improvement in life that you seek. I wish that for you!


THERAPY FIRST SESSION QUESTIONS:

1. “Have you ever experienced a terrible occurrence that has impacted you significantly? Examples may include being the victim of armed assault, witnessing a tragedy happen to someone else, surviving a sexual assault, or living through a natural disaster.

2. Do you ever feel that you’ve been affected by feelings of edginess, anxiety, or nerves?

3. Have you experienced a week or longer of lower-than-usual interest in activities that you usually enjoy? Examples might include work, exercise, or hobbies.

4. Have you ever experienced an ‘attack’ of fear, anxiety, or panic?

5. Do feelings of anxiety or discomfort around others bother you?


Physical health

1. Tell me about your sleeping habits over the past X months. Have you noticed any changes? Difficulty sleeping? Restlessness?

2. How would you describe your appetite over the past X weeks? Have your eating habits changed in any way?


Wellbeing (and ill-being)

1. Could you tell me about any times over the past few months that you’ve been bothered by low feelings, stress, or sadness?

2. How frequently have you had little pleasure or interest in the activities you usually enjoy? Would you tell me more?


Autonomy, choice, and control

1. How often during the past X months have you felt as though your moods, or your life, were under your control?

2. How frequently have you been bothered by not being able to stop worrying?


Self-perception

1. Tell me about how confident you have been feeling in your capabilities recently.

2. Let’s talk about how often you have felt satisfied with yourself over the past X months.


Hope and hopelessness

1. How often over the past few weeks have you felt the future was bleak?

2. Can you tell me about your hopes and dreams for the future? What feelings have you had recently about working toward those goals?


Relationships and belonging

1. Describe how ‘supported’ you feel by others around you – your friends, family, or otherwise.

2. Let’s discuss how you have been feeling about your relationships recently.


Activity

1. Tell me about any important activities or projects that you’ve been involved with recently. How much enjoyment do you get from these?

2. How frequently have you been doing things that mean something to you or your life?”


I hope this helps on your journey, and let me know if I can be of any more help.


Dr. Pepper James

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

God Forsaken

Dear Dr. Pepper, I am stressing out over many issues. I can’t seem to figure out an answer. I pray but don’t get any response. I know you are a “God has a Plan” person, but that doesn’t seem to be wor

Flicked Off

Dear Dr. Pepper, I am stumped. I went on a first meeting with a man. We had been texting for two weeks and seemed to have a good rapport going. We met at a coffee shop. I was dressed nicely. I had a l

Tense Tessa

Dear Dr. Pepper, My ex-husband and his new wife are exceedingly difficult for me to handle. I cannot stand to see them at school or athletic functions. Any advice for managing the tension? Tense Tessa

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page